Mathematics

Lori Castro
Instructor

203-578-8770
Lori.Castro@ct.gov

Theresa DeCesare
Instructor

203-578-8806
Theresa.DeCesare@ct.gov

Greg Forte
Instructor

203-578-8732
Greg.Forte@ct.gov

Eric Krebs
Instructor

203-578-8730
Eric.Krebs@ct.gov

Darlene Marks
Instructor

203-578-8731
Darlene.Marks@ct.gov

Margaret Moreau
Instructor

203-578-8816
Margaret.Moreau@ct.gov

David Parillo
Instructor

203-578-8815
David.Parillo@ct.gov

Amy Tavares
Instructor

203-578-8756
Amy.Henao@ct.gov

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The math department is committed to providing our students with opportunities to develop their skills as independent learners, collaborators and problem-solvers. These 21st Century Skills are what colleges and future employers will be looking for.

CTHSS is phasing-in a Mastery-Based Learning Model which holds all students to high expectations while also respecting the needs of all learners. All math classrooms blend the use of technology and hands-on learning. We also utilize small group teacher led instruction and small group peer learning activities while at the same time cultivating the skills of an independent learner.

Students and parents need to plan their pathway carefully to meet their expectations that match post-graduate plans. The math program offers four years of study and is very flexible based on student achievement. Students must meet the three credit requirement for graduation. College-bound students should complete a minimum of four credits. Some students who are passionate about learning math will have opportunities to earn more than four credits of math during their four years. Pre-requisites are in place to prepare students for successful next steps. For a complete description of the Math Curriculum, please review the district curriculum math page.